Rivista di storia economica
Italian Review of Economic History

About this journal


Rivista di Storia Economica / Italian Review of Economic History (RSE / IREH) is a peer-reviewed economic history journal published by Il Mulino, on behalf of the Associazione per la Storia Economica. Founded in 1936 by Luigi Einaudi (editor until 1943), Rivista di Storia Economica was republished in 1984 and, since 2022, it added an English name to the original one. The journal is directed to economic historians and historians, economists and scholars in the social sciences. It deals with Italian, European and global economic history on the belief that connections between history and economics can enrich both disciplines. RSE / IREH also welcomes contributions that approach the study of all aspects of economic history drawing on different disciplinary backgrounds, such as economics, business history, geography, history, political science, sociology and management. Topics include: Agriculture; Consumption; Economic demography; Economic geography; Economic well-being; Government intervention and regulation; Inequality, poverty and social mobility; Innovation; Institutions and institutional change; International trade; Manufacturing; Money, banking and finance; Political economy; Services; Standards of living and wellbeing; Technical change; Transportation; Warfare and Empire.


Editors Michelangelo Vasta (University of Siena) Editor in chief, Carlo Ciccarelli (University of Rome Tor Vergata) Associate editor, Brian A’Hearn (Pembroke College, University of Oxford), Francesco Cinnirella (University of Bergamo), Anna Missiaia (University of Gothenburg) Editorial board Leticia Arroyo Abad (City University of New York), Jutta Bolt (University of Groningen), Marco Cattini (Bocconi University, Milan), Alfonso Herranz-Loncán (University of Barcelona), Elio Lo Cascio (Sapienza University of Rome), Marco Magnani (Bank of Italy), Paolo Malanima (Magna Graecia University of Catanzaro), Giangiacomo Nardozzi (Polytechnic University of Milan), Laura Panza (University of Melbourne), Joan Roses (London School of Economics), Blanca Sánchez-Alonso (Universidad CEU-San Pablo, Madrid), Gianni Toniolo (LUISS School of European Political Economy), Francesca Trivellato (Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton), Jacob Weisdorf (Sapienza University of Rome), Nikolaus Wolf (Humboldt University Berlin).